Team Penske dominated every Bristol race

HUNTERSVILLE – It was a great week for Joey Logano and Team Penske.

Logano, who lives in Huntersville, won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Irwin Tools Night Race in Mooresville-based Team Penske’s No. 22 Ford on Aug. 23 at Bristol (Tenn.) Motor Speedway.

It was his third victory of the season, tying him with Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Brad Keselowski.

Team Penske’s Ryan Blaney (Huntersville resident) also won the Nationwide Series Food City 300 at Bristol on Aug. 22.

Brad Keselowski, who drives for Penske and owns Brad Keselowski Racing, made a clean sweep at Bristol by winning the Camping World Truck Series Unoh 300 on Aug. 21. He led 119 of the 200 laps. Keselowski also finished second to teammate Logano in the Sprint Cup race.

“It just means a lot to be able to get this victory,” Logano said. “Penske with the 1-2 finish there and all three Team Penske drivers being able to get a win with Brad in the Truck and Ryan last night and then ourselves trying to put the cherry on top here in the Cup race. All of us got a win, so everyone is happy. … Right now, the momentum that we have and the cars that we have, we’ve been fast at every type of race track.”


New face at JR Motorsports

MOORESVILLE – JR Motorsports announced that veteran crew chief Ernie Cope will replace Greg Ives as the leader of the No. 9 Chevrolet team next season. Ives is scheduled to work with Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the Sprint Cup Series next season. Cope began his crew chief career  in 1997 and has worked with many drivers in all three NASCAR national series. Cope currently leads the No. 5 Chevrolet team at JR Motorsports.


Truck teams penalized

HUNTERSVILLE – Three teams that compete in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series – the No. 00, 19, and 30 – have been penalized for post-race infractions Aug. 21. Their cars didn’t meet post-race height requirements.

Crew chiefs Joel Shear (No. 00); Doug Randolph (No. 19) and Doug George (No. 30) were each fined $5,000. Each team lost 10 driver points and 10 owner points. This included drivers Cole Custer (No. 00) and Ron Hornaday Jr. (No. 30) along with owners Gene Haas (No. 00), Keselowski (No. 19), and Steve Turner (No. 30).




We rank Herald Weekly-area drivers in the racing world:

1. Joey Logano – Won the Sprint Cup race last week, his third of the season, tied for the lead with heavyweights Gordon, Earnhardt, Johnson and Keselowski.

2. Ryan Blaney – Won the Nationwide Series race, after leading only seven of the 300 laps. But he led on the vital lap – the final one.

3. Matt Kenseth – One of the season’s most consistent Sprint Cup drivers. Finished third in last week’s race, but still no victories. Getting closer, though.

4. Darrell Wallace Jr. – Finished second in the Camping World Truck Series race last week. His solid season is rolling along.

5. Kyle Busch – Second in the Nationwide Series race, but had a nasty spat over the radio with crew chief  Dave Rogers in the Sprint Cup race a day later.