HUNTERSVILLE – The V Foundation All-Star Classic, featuring lake-area high school basketball stars, will be held June 7 at Lake Norman Charter. Proceeds will be donated to The V Foundation for Cancer Research.

The organization was founded by former N.C. State basketball coach Jim Valvano, who died of cancer in 1993. The girls’ all-star game will begin at 6 p.m., followed by the boys’ game. All players are seniors. Tickets cost $10 for adults and $5 for students/children.

The game is sponsored by Nothing But Net Basketball (a Huntersville youth recreation league), Hendrick Northlake Luxury Auto Mall and Huntersville Parks and Recreation.

“We hope that the seniors realize that they are a big part of this effort to give back to something special that hits too close to home to many of us,” said Bobby Williams, who coaches the Lake Norman Charter girls’ team and is the Nothing But Net founder. “Our intent is to grow this event each year so that we can offer The V Foundation a big check year after year.”

The event will include fun competitions and other fundraisers, including half-court shooting, knockout, 3-point shooting and slam dunk contests.

The “celebrity” coaches will be former college players from the lake area, including Brandyn Curry (Harvard), Kevin Canevari (Mercer), Devona Allgood (Princeton), Kyle Gaillard (William & Mary) and Jamie Skeen (Virginia Commonwealth).

The girls’ all-stars are Alex Busch, Ezinne Mbamalu, Jessi Harris and Sierra Wiley (Lake Norman Charter), Anna Diggs, Kelsey Dean and Julia Brown (Hough), Destiny Barrino, Lindsey Harris and Bri Jones (North Mecklenburg), Bryanna Curry and Mariah Washington (Hopewell), Kelsey Garrison (Davidson Day), Taylor Tillery (Mooresville), Giselle Verville (SouthLake Christian) and Laura Knight (Community School of Davidson).  

The boys’ all-stars are Daquarius Collins, Elijah Tubbs, Ralphael McCollum, Jahmeel Watts and Kareem Crawford (North Mecklenburg), Jalen Sanders and Andrew Howard (SouthLake Christian), Jonah Hood (Hopewell), Tucker Thompson and Theo Mack (Hough), Nick White (Lake Norman), Kurt Richter and Ralph Montgomery (Mooresville), Mitchell Venator (Lake Norman Charter), Michael Daily (Community School of Davidson) and Johnny McLean (Davidson Day).