CHARLOTTE — The 2014 election cycle is officially off and running as candidates began filing Feb. 10 to be put on the ballot.

Offices up for election are for the U.S. Congress, N.C. General Assembly, Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners and members of the Soil and Water Conservation district. Also up for election are the clerk of superior court, sheriff and district attorney.

Nonpartisan races are for the supreme court chief justice, supreme court associate justices, court of appeals judges, superior court judges and district court judges.

Candidates hope to win the May 6 primary to be contenders for the Nov. 4 election.

Among area residents vying for a spot are Democratic candidate Natasha Marcus of Davidson and Republican candidate Lynette D. Rinker of Cornelius. They are both in the running to represent the N.C. House of Representatives District 98, which encompasses Huntersville, Davidson, Cornelius and north Charlotte.Though he hasn’t officially filed, N.C. Speaker of the House Thom Tillis plans to open the seat to challenge U.S. Sen. Kay Hagan. 

Marcus, a former attorney and mother of two, said she hopes to fight for working families, small business owners and everyone involved in education. She said education, jobs, a clean environment and good government are interrelated and shouldn’t be sacrificed for another.

Rinker, former Cornelius mayor, has served on several town committees and served as Cornelius Mayor pro tem. She is proud of spearheading the citizen-driven comprehensive master plan emphasizing economic development and bringing interest to the town.

Recently, Rinker went on record to applaud Gov. Pat McCrory’s announcement of raising teacher salaries. She said her number one priority is education reform, including strengthening the state’s commitment to expanding choices, offering more vocational and technical training in schools and offering more teacher support.

Hoping to retain his N.C. House of Rep. District 92 seat is Charles Jeter of Huntersville. He is president of Intermodal FCL in Cornelius. If elected, he hopes to fight to lower taxes, improve the transportation system by widening I-77 and completing I-485, work with businesses to create more jobs by reducing regulation and reforming the education system with reduced class sizes, and adding performance benefits.

Democrat Leonard Richardson of Charlotte and Republican Jim Puckett of Huntersville have both filed for the Mecklenburg County board of Commissioners District 1 seat. Puckett previously held the seat from 2000 to 2006. He also served on the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board from 1997 to 2000. He is a owner of Electro Painters and Ceiling Pro of the Carolinas.

N.C. Sen. Malcolm Graham filed to be considered for the U.S. House of Representatives District 12 seat. He is up against Alma Shealey Adams of Greensboro in the primaries. Graham works as special assistant to the president for community engagement and government affairs at his alma mater Johnson C. Smith University. He previously served on the Charlotte City Council from 1999 to 2005, representing northeast Charlotte. He has served on the N.C. Senate since 2005.  

Filing takes place at the Mecklenburg County Board of Elections Office, 741 Kenilworth Ave. Suite 202, weekdays 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  The district attorney and court judge candidates must file at the state board of election office.

The deadline for filing is Feb. 28 at noon. 

Other candidates who have filed are: 

• N.C. State Senate District 38, Joel Ford (D)

• N.C. State Senate District 40, Nasif Majeed (D) and Joyce Waddell (D)

• N.C. Senate District 44 David Lamar Curtis (R)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 88, Rob Bryan (R)

• N.C. House of Representatives District 95, John A Fraley (R)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 99, Rodney W. Moore (D)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 100, Tricia Cotham (D)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 101, Beverly Miller Earle (D)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 102 Becky Carney, (D)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 105, Jacqueline Schaffer (R)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 106, Carla Cunningham (D)

• N.C. House of Rep. District 107, Kelly Alexander (D)

• Board of commissioners at-large Patricia (Pat) Cotham (D)

• Board of commissioners District 4, Dumont Clarke (D)

• Board of commissioners District 5, Matthew Ridenhour (R)

• Board of commissioners District 6, Bill James (R)

• Clerk of Superior Court, Elisa Chinn Gary (D)

• Superior Court Judge District 26B Lisa Cristine Bell

• Superior Court Judge District 26C William Robert Bell

• District Court Judge District 26 Donald R. Cureton Jr.

• District Court Judge District 26 Rickeye Ann McKoy-Mitchell

• District Court Judge District 26 Paige B. McThenia

• District Court Judge District 26 Theofanis Xenophon Nixon

• District Court Judge District 26 Matthew John Osman

• District Court Judge District 26 Rebecca Thorne Tin

This list was compiled off of the N.C. State Board of Elections website as of Feb. 11.