Apply for Citizen’s Police Academy

HUNTERSVILLE – Applications are being taken for the Huntersville Citizen’s Police Academy, a weekly series of classes held 6:30-8:30 p.m. Tuesdays, Jan. 21-March 25, at the Huntersville Police Department, 9630 Julian Clark Ave.

Residents interested in taking part in the free academy should fill out an application by visiting and sending it in by 5 p.m. Jan. 10.

Requirements for acceptance include living or working in Huntersville,  being 18 years old or older, having not been convicted of or having pending charges for any felony offense, and having not been convicted of or having pending charges for any misdemeanor offense within the last two years.

For more details or to obtain an application, email Sergeant Tom Seifert at


Registration open for Polar Bear Ride on Jan. 11

DAVIDSON – Hundreds of cyclists are expected for Lake Norman’s 16th annual Polar Bear Ride on Jan. 11. 

The Rocky River Road Club sponsors the half and full metric century bicycle rides through southern Iredell and Rowan counties.

Both rides start and finish at Ingersoll-Rand on Beaty Street in Davidson at 10 a.m.  Registration opens at 8:30 am. Registration, waiver and route sheets to the ride are available at

Registration costs $25 in advance and $30 on the day of the ride. Minors ride free with a parent. The entry cost includes Jersey Mike’s subs, hot soup and hot chocolate.

Registration is also available at Online registration closes at 8 p.m. Jan. 11.

More than 650 cyclists participated in last year’s event, enabling the club to donate $10,000 to the Ada Jenkins Center in Davidson, along with smaller donations to churches and nonprofits.

Details: or 704 896-3331.

Nuclear Station donates toys, bikes

HUNTERSVILLE – Toys and bikes of every shape and size were donated by McGuire Nuclear Station employees to the U.S. Marine Corps-led program, Toys for Tots.

Now in its 10th year, the Toys for Tots drive is a holiday tradition for McGuire employees. In addition to the hundreds of toys, more than 100 bikes have been collected.

Some departments compete against each other to see which group can donate the most bikes. Every year, several collection bins overflow with gifts and are stacked high with baby dolls, soccer balls, remote control trucks and many other toys.

Fans help Dale Jr. break record

LAS VEGAS - Dale Earnhardt Jr. is not without friends and admirers.

The National Motorsports Press Association announced Dec. 5 that Earnhardt is the winner of this year's NASCAR Most Popular Driver Award via a fan vote. This marks the 11th consecutive time he's won the award, a record. 

Earnhardt broke a tie with Bill Elliott for most consecutive awards received with this win, though Elliott's 16 total awards continue to serve as the all-time high. 

The final top-10 drivers, in order of votes received were: Earnhardt Jr., Kasey Kahne, Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart, Danica Patrick, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch and Carl Edwards.