Pittenger claims 9th district

Republican Robert Pittenger won a tight race to defeat Democrat Jennifer Roberts for the state’s 9th Congressional district.

Pittenger received 51.76 percent, or 193,174 votes to Roberts 45.68 percent. Libertarian Curtis Campbell received 2.56 percent of votes cast.

Roberts dominated Mecklenburg County in the race by receiving 135,739 votes compared to Pittenger’s 127,334 votes. However, her Mecklenburg totals weren’t enough to overcome large losses in Iredell and Union County. Pittenger beat Roberts in Iredell 33,951 to 17,592 and 31,969 to 17,184 in Union County.

Campbell received 6,656 votes in Mecklenburg County.

Pittenger served three-terms as a state senator and was the Republican nominee for lieutenant governor in 2008.

Jeter edges out Bradford for N.C. House District 92

Republican Charles Jeter squeaked out a victory over Democrat Robin Bradford in the race for the N.C. House of Representatives - District 92.

Jeter received 51.36 percent, or 18,730 votes to Bradford’s 48.64 percent, or 17,738 votes.

Bradford dominated early voting with 10,401 votes to Jeter’s 8,250 votes. Jeter made up for the difference on Election Day receiving 8,898 votes to Bradford’s 6,585 votes.

Karen Bentley holds on to District 1

Republican Karen Bentley will retain her position as Mecklenburg County Commissioner for District 1, beating out Democratic candidate Keith Bradford. Bentley received 54.08  or 37,984 votes, to Bradford’s 45.92 percent.

Democrats dominate Commissioners At-Large seats

The Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners At-Large went to Democrats Pat Cotham, Trevor M. Fuller and Kim Michele Ratliff.

Cotham received 19.8 percent, or 241,509 votes, Fuller took 19.08 percent or 232,777 votes and Ratliff got 19.61 percent or 239,250 votes.

Republicans Michael Hobbs, James F. Peterson and Wayne Powers each came in with just shy of 13 percent of the votes.

Libertarian Jason Bateman received 2.98 or 36,353 votes.

Statewide Election Results (Updated)

For the Judge races, we ran the results for Mecklenburg County only in the paper. We have corrected this here to display the state results. A correction will be ran in next week's paper.