A little more than 227,600 people out of Mecklenburg County’s 602,700 registered voters cast ballots in the mid-term elections on Tuesday, Nov. 2. Here’s a round up of the elected representatives.

Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners

Democrats renewed their control of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners. Incumbent At-Large representative Jennifer Roberts lead at the polls, with 112,556 votes to re-elect the Democrat for her fourth term on the board.

If the preliminary vote totals hold, Democrats will hold five seats on the nine-member board.

Former Mecklenburg County Sheriff Jim Pendergraph, a Republican, was the second highest vote getter in the race, with 111,622 votes, securing his place for one of the other two available At-Large seats on the board.

Republican incumbent Karen Bentley, District 1, ran unopposed.

Mecklenburg County Sheriff
Incumbent Democrat Chipp Bailey garnered 137,990 votes to beat out his Republican opponent Christopher Hailey who brought in 83,111 votes. Tuesday’s election was Bailey’s first after being appointed sheriff in 2008 by the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners.

District Attorney
Republican Andrew Murray will become Mecklenburg County’s district attorney after beating out Democrat Michael D. Barnes, a city council member, with 52.07 percent of the vote. Murray replaces Peter Gilchrist who decided not to run this year.

North Carolina Senate, District 40
Democrat Malcolm Graham, the incumbent, was re-elected for his fourth term in the North Carolina General Assembly with 58.15 percent of the votes in district 40. Graham’s opponent, Republican candidate John Aneralla, garnered 41.85 percent, or 23,045 total votes.

U.S. House of Representatives, District 9
Incumbent Sue Myrick, the Republican candidate who has served in the U.S. Congress since 1995, was re-elected to represent North Carolina’s 9th District.  Myrick, who served as mayor of Charlotte from 1987-91, beat out Democrat Jeff Doctor, 69 percent to 31 percent.

U.S. House of Representatives, District 12
Incumbent Democrat Mel Watt will hold his seat for another two years after earning 102,783 votes.  His opponents Greg Dority and Lon Cecil earned 55,066 votes and 3,174 votes, respectively.

U.S. Senate
Republican Incumbent Richard Burr will return to Washington after earning 54.93 percent of the statewide vote, beating out Democratic opponent Elaine Marshall and Libertarian opponent Michael Beitler.  Marshall earned 42.93 percent and Beitler earned 2.09 percent.



Jeff Tarte
Phone: 704-907-1421
E-mail: mayor@cornelius.org


Lynette Rinker, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 704-896-3967
E-mail: lrinker@cornelius.org

James R. Bensman
Phone: 704-905-1089
E-mail: jbensman@attglobal.net

Dave Gilroy
Phone: 704-258-6653
E-mail: dgilroy@cornelius.org

Thurman Ross Jr.
Phone: 704-968-5876
E-mail: tross@cornelius.org

Chuck Travis
Phone: 704-333-7862
E-mail: ctravis@cornelius.org

The board meets the first and third Mondays of the month at 7 p.m. at Town Hall, 21445 Catawba Ave. It normally holds a pre-meeting at 6 p.m. The pre-meetings are held in Room 204, Town Hall.



John Woods
Phone: 704-868-6917
E-mail: jwoods@ci.davidson.nc.us


Laurie Venzon, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 704-975-1615
E-mail: lvenzon@ci.davidson.nc.us

Tim Dreffer
Phone: 704-651-3400
E-mail: tdreffer@ci.davidson.nc.us

Brian Jenest
Phone: 704-896-8320
E-mail: bjenest@ci.davidson.nc.us

Connie Wessner
Phone: 704-654-5824
E-mail: cwessner@ci.davidson.nc.us

Margo Williams
Phone: 704-892-3036
E-mail: mwilliams@ci.davidson.nc.us

The board meets at Town Hall, 216 S. Main St., on the second Tuesday of the month at 6 p.m. The board holds work sessions at Town Hall the fourth Tuesday at 6 p.m.



Jill Swain
Phone: 704-948-0944
E-mail: jswain@huntersville.org


Sarah McAulay, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 704-875-6872
E-mail: smcaulay@huntersville.org

Denae Caulfield
Phone: 704-948-1187
E-mail: freedomwithpurpose@

Charles Jeter
Phone: 704-992-6388
E-mail: cjeter@huntersville.org

Ron Julian
Phone: 704-875-8874
E-mail: rjulian@huntersville.org

Ken Lucas
Phone: 704-728-6252
E-mail: klucas@huntersville.org

The town board meets on the first and third Mondays of the month at Town Hall, 101 Huntersville-Concord Road, at 6:30 p.m.

Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners
The board meets on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6 p.m. in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center, 600 E. Fourth St. For more information on the board and its meetings, visit www.charmeck.org/mecklenburg/county/BOCC

Karen Bentley, District 1
Phone: 704-432-3997
E-mail: karen.bentley@mecklenburg

Jennifer Roberts, At Large
E-mail: jennifer.roberts@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
Phone: 704-336-2574

Harold Cogdell Jr., At Large
E-mail: harold.cogdell@MecklenburgCountyNC.gov
Phone: 704-336-3866

Jim Pendergraph, At Large
E-mail: jpc@jimpendergraphcampaign.com
Phone: 704-588-4585

School Board

Rhonda Lennon, District 1
Phone: 704-564-3382
Fax: 980-343-7128
E-mail: rhonda.lennon@cms.k12.nc.us

Trent Merchant, Member At-Large
Phone: 704-517-9747
Fax: 980-343-7128
E-mail: trent.merchant@cms.k12.nc.us

Kaye Bernard McGarry, Member At-Large
Phone: 704-366-8971
Fax: 980-343-7128
E-mail: KayeMcGarry@cms.k12.nc.us

“Coach” Joe I. White, Member At-Large
Phone: 704-542-2192
Fax: 980-343-0348
E-mail: coachjoew@cms.k12.nc.us

Mecklenburg County Sheriff

Chipp Bailey
700 E. 4th St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone: 704-336-2543

District Attorney

Andrew Murray
Phone: 704-686-0700
Fax: 704-686-0716

N.C. House of Representatives

Rep. Thom Tillis (R-District 98)
Raleigh office: 919-733-5828
Home: 704-248-2980

N.C. Senate

Sen. Malcolm Graham (D-District 40)
Raleigh Office: 919-733-5650
Home: 704-547-1193

U.S. House of Representatives

Rep. Sue Myrick (R-District 9)
Washington Office
230 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202-225-1976 • Fax: 202-225-3389
Charlotte Office
6525 Morrison Blvd. Suite 100
Charlotte, NC 28211
Phone: 704-362-1060 • Fax: 704-367-0852
Website: myrick.house.gov

Rep. Mel Watt (D-District 12)
Washington office
2304 Rayburn HOB
Washington, DC 20515-3312
Phone: 202-225-1510 • Fax: 202-225-1512
Charlotte Office
1230 W. Morehead St. Suite 306
Charlotte, NC 28208-5214
Phone: 704-344-9950 • Fax: 704-344-9971
Website: watt.house.gov

U.S. Senate

Kay Hagan
Washington Office
521 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: 202-224-6342 • Fax: 202-228-2563
Charlotte Office
1520 South Boulevard; Suite 205
Charlotte, NC 28203
Phone: 704-334-2448 • Fax: 704-334-2405

Richard Burr
Washington Office
217 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: 202-224-3154 • Fax: 202-228-2981
Gastonia Office
181 South Street, Room 222
Gastonia, NC 28052
Phone: 704-833-0854 • Fax: 704-833-1467